Llandow Sprint

IMG_0676My first round of the Luffield MG Championship was this weekend at Llandow Circuit, near Cardiff. Last year I set the class record in mixed conditions and a drying track so I was hoping for sun and a chance of a good haul of points to start the year. The forecast all week had been mixed alternating between wet and dry but by the time Saturday had arrived after a damp start the afternoon looked promising.

There had been heavy rain overnight and the track was still very damp. made worst by another light shower just as I lined up for my first practice run. With the promise of better weather in the afternoon there was no point in pushing hard. Being an old airfield there is always a strong wind and with the rain stopped the track was drying fast. Second practice was a bit of an unknown the track was much drier but with the odd patch by first run was so slow i didn’t have much in the way of a reference on how hard to push. Still I managed to knock a healthy 8 seconds off my first time to end the morning just over a second shy of my best time from last year.

For the afternoon the weather was sunny as promised and with second practice as a reference I was able to push hard and knock off another 2 seconds off my time, quick enough to dip under my time from last year by just over half a second. Although the run was quick I still felt I go go faster my run through the complex at the start of the lap was a little scruffy.

For the final run I pushed hard, attacking the kerbs through the complex and the chicane as much I dared and I managed to knock another 2 seconds off my time to finish the day with a time of 104.69 quick enough to beat the record and half a second under the target time for the event giving me a score of 100.53 to begin this year.

Events are coming thick and fast now, next weekend I’ve got 2 days at Wiscombe, followed by a trip to Prescott the following week and then a new event for me a non championship sprint organised by the MGCC SW centre at Hullavington airfield near Chippenham on Bank Holiday Monday.

Leave a comment